Roasted Vegetables with Cous Cous & Goat’s Cheese.

Tuesday 13th September 2011

“How about roasted veg?” Posed my wife.

“Yeah, but what carb?…” I answered exhaustedly. “…all I seem to do is potatoes, potatoes, potatoes!”

I’m looking for inspiration for what to have for dinner. I rarely burden my wife with such mundane decisions of what to have for dinner on the days when she doesn’t have to cook. She has enough trouble deciding what to wear everyday without putting her under more stress. 😉

But today decision making with conviction seemed to be her forte. More to the point, I was desperate & was willing get it where I could.

“How about cous cous?”

“Perfect!…” I exclaimed. “…Done. Roasted veg & cous cous. And I could throw a little goat’s cheese on there too.” I continued.

“You can’t have that.” She reminded me.

“No but you guys can. It’ll be the protein that’s missing.” I said begrudgingly.

And so it came to be.

As we all gravitated towards the dinner table, Zephy gave each plate the usual once over. Checking to see if someone had more of something or a bigger portion than someone else. At first glance he didn’t notice any difference.

“Oh, this is nice Daddy.” My wife said trying to encourage Zephy to start eating & stop dive-bombing his finger into his water glass.

“The courgettes are nice…” She continued.

Her persistence paid off, he started to look for a courgette on his plate, only to stumble across a mushroom.

“Oh yeah…” He said waving a mushroom that was dangling on the end of his folk, in my face. “…the mushrooms a reeaally nice.”

After enough taunting he popped it into his mouth.

“Mmmmm…” He teased. “…they are really, REALLY nice…”

I looked down at my mushroomless plate.

“…And the cheese is loovveelly too.” He added noticing the melted goat’s cheese.

“Oh shut up you!”

Honestly, I have no idea where he gets it from. 😉

20110913-090515.jpg

This entry was posted in Dinner, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Roasted Vegetables with Cous Cous & Goat’s Cheese.

  1. roger edwards says:

    what’s goats sheese like mild or strong?

  2. Stef says:

    The dish *does* look very lovely – what a nice man you are to make food for others that you can’t also enjoy. I feel for you. 😦

  3. Mistral Zagni says:

    Yet another gorgeous meal. Thanks again for making such lovely food just for us!

Leave a Reply

