Grilled Chicken Breast, Crushed Potatoes, Tzatziki & Salad.

Wednesday 14th September 2011

Evening meal ideas are very much like buses, you wait for one for ages and then suddenly 2 come along at the same time!

This was another of my wife’s dinner recommendations.

It’s just the kind of meal she would order in a restaurant. Lean meat, salad & of course, her achilles heel, potatoes done in the oven. She’s not particularly weigh conscious, just more inclined towards the finer things in life. And by finer, I mean more delicate. Tartlets, oily fish, crêpes, salads or soups are her usual choices in comparison to my stodgy, greasy or meaty elections.

The yin to my yang. 🙂

“Oh!, that looks nice,” She said as I carried the plates to the table. “It looks like my sort of meal, doesn’t it?”

“Yeah.” I replied a bit confused.

It was only as we were clearing the table that she realised that the meal she had just eaten was, in fact, her brainchild.

“That was another one of my suggestions, wasn’t it?” She said.

“It was indeed. Good call.” I praised.

“Yeah,” She said. “That’s two this week.” She continued with a grin like a Cheshire cat on her face. 🙂

20110914-104514.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dairy-Free, Dinner, Potatoes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Grilled Chicken Breast, Crushed Potatoes, Tzatziki & Salad.

  1. roger edwards says:

    looks tasty. i like the spuds

  2. Stef says:

    The yin to your yang – fantastic!

    I don’t do a lot of heavy carbs (read: pasta & potatoes) – so here are some carb ideas: sweet potatoes, acorn squash, lentils, beans [chili, white, red, chickpeas…], hummus, quinoa… Any of these strike your fancy?

  3. Mistral Zagni says:

    And it was a lovely meal too. The chicken was just right…not at all dry like chicken fillets can be. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

