Pasta Sauce.

Friday 16th September 2011

Obviously, this isn’t all we had for dinner last night but this is all I made. And as it clearly states in article 4, section 7, paragraph 3 of my self-imposed blog rules, I can only blog the things that I make, which means that the fresh pasta that accompanied the rich creamy tomato sofrito can not, under any circumstance, be included. 😉

Zephy often asks for things as we walk around the supermarket. They range from biscuits to socks. If it catches his eye he’ll probably ask for it. Most of the time I chant; “Not today.” & continue with my mission to get in & out as quick as I can preferably setting a new world record for fastest shopper in the northern hemisphere & thus getting my name entered into the ‘Guinness book of world records’.

That said, I have my moments of weakness & at those times I find myself being talked into buying yet another bottle of bubble bath that just happens to come with an inflatable figure of Lightning McQueen.

On this particular day we were in the deli. Safe enough. Not! Even here his eyes light up with the possibility of being bought a family sized bag of monkey nuts.

We got half way down the shop before he fell in love.

“Dad, can we get these?” He asked wide eyed with his bottom lip pushed out.

He was holding up a bag of tortellini stuffed with ricotta cheese & spinach.

It wasn’t chocolate. It wasn’t coca-cola. Or perhaps more to the point, it wasn’t a foot spa with detachable bath brush.

How could I say no to this healthy request?

“Go on then. Throw it in there.” I told him. 😉

20110916-100908.jpg
Recipe.

Chop & sauté 4 teeth of garlic I’m olive oil. Then add 2 chopped onions & a diced red pepper. Leave to seat down until soft. Season with salt n’ pepper. Splash a little white wine into the pan to deglaze & add 4, skinned & cored, tomatoes. Leave to simmer for 5 minutes before blitzing the lot in a food processor. I added 200ml of soya cream at the end to make it creamy but that optional.

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Dinner, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pasta Sauce.

  1. rutheh says:

    Never heard the expression 4 “teeth of garlic” but like it! Fun.

  2. Stef says:

    I’d take ricotta and cheese tortellini over Lighting McQueen any day. 😉

  3. Mistral Zagni says:

    This was a very tasty sauce and I am not a fan of tomatoe sauces but I’d love this again. x

Leave a Reply

