Garlic Sardines on Toast.

Sunday 18th September 2011

My son, Zephyrus, goes to a brand new school. In fact when he started, it wasn’t even built. The school was founded 2 years before he began & was set up in porta-cabins. The oldest kid in the school was 5. They had a big playground with a drinking fountain & a canape for the summer months. It had a home-counties feel to it rather than a big city school.

They also had a vegetable patch where twice a week small groups would be taken to explore, water or gather what mother nature had provided. From 4.30 until 5.00 everyday, parents were encouraged to visit the patch & sample anything the kids fancied. Zephy & I went there often to taste the strawberries or chives or scratch around for a potato or two. Whatever we brought home, I would make a point of putting it on Zeph’s plate. Be it a tomato or a baby new potato, it would always put a smile on his face to know that he had played a part in it getting to his plate.

When he moved to the newly built premises, the vegetable patch along with the school, stopped being a little suburban institution & became an inner-city facility. Zephy’s class stopped going to the patch & if we ever looked over the surrounding wall to the patch, it looked like a work in progress.

Our days of digging in the dirt were over.

Just before Zephy finished school for the summer, my wife went to pick him up & as they left the building there was a cardboard shoe box perched on the reception counter. Inside was a notice saying; ‘Garlic. Please take me home.’ So they rooted around in the box & brought home a couple of bulbs.

I used it to make the garlic butter. 🙂

20110918-105815.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Dinner, Fish, Organic and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Garlic Sardines on Toast.

  1. Stef says:

    I’m sad that Z’s school doesn’t have a garden any more… 😦

Leave a Reply

