Chickpea & Pork Belly Pottage.

Monday 19th September 2011

I love leftovers.

The choices were; a) Spend the day in the city doing the food shop for the weekend or b) Spend the last day of the summer at the beach swimming in the sea.

It was a no brainer. 😉

I used the parsley rice left over from our ‘Pan Fried Mackerel Filet on Parsley Rice with Sauteed Vegetables & Bacon’ that we had for dinner on Thursday. Fished out a stray jar of chickpeas that were lurking at the back of the larder. Diced up the remainder of the ‘Pork Belly’ from Saturday & finished off the last two onions in my string bag. Thankfully, I hadn’t used all the carrots for my ‘Lentil Stew with Chorizo’ last Friday so all 3 of them went into the pot too. I made some cold green beans to have with the ‘Pasta Sauce’ we had on Friday which I put in at the last minute after asking my wife;

“Do these go with this?”

“Yeah,” She said. “Throw them in anyway.”

There was half a bulb of garlic from our ‘Garlic Sardines on Toast’ lunch we had yesterday that was crying out to be added. And finally, when Mum & Dad came over a few months ago, Mum taught me how to make boiled bacon. I kept the stock & put it in the freezer. As I’ve mentioned before, my freezer is tiny & every time I want to put something in there I see this bloody great pot of ‘Boiled Bacon’ stock staring back at me begging to be used. I was happy to oblige…at last!

I love leftovers. 🙂

20110919-093303.jpg

This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Lunch, Organic, Pork, Rice and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chickpea & Pork Belly Pottage.

  1. Stef says:

    It was *totally* a ‘no-brainer’. For a crazy mix of leftovers, your pottage looks wonderful!

Leave a Reply

