Zephy’s Fruit Salad.

Wednesday 21st September 2011

After a long play in the park Zephy & I headed home. My plan was to have a low maintenance dinner. All I had to do was sweat some onions, boil some green beans & make a salad! It was the perfect time for he & I to spend some quality time together.

Whatever I cook, I make a point of getting my son,Zephyrus involved. Whether it be helping to prepare ingredients, tasting stocks & sauces or just by showing him the amount of fat that is rendered from a single breast of duck. There are more than a few life lessons to be learnt in the kitchen.

“I thought we could make something together.” I announced on the walk home.

“What?”

“Rice pudding.” I said.

He licked his lips. He & my wife love rice pudding.

I got everything we needed set up on the table & gave him a call.

“Ok, we need 60 grams of that one & 40 of that one.” I explained handing him a jar of rice.

“I’ve got this great idea,” He said. “Can I make a dessert too.”

“Yeah, but can you put this in there first, so I can put it on to boil?”

He did & then ran off to the fridge to gather previsions.

He started with orange juice then a little sugar. Then came some pomegranate seeds & a slash of soya milk. After that he was a bit stumped & so looked for inspiration in larder. He seemed satisfied as he exited clutching a couple of digestive biscuits.

“You could put some banana in, if you wanted.” I said as he was sprinkling the biscuits into the ramekins.

“Yeah, have you got one?” He replied adding a little more juice.

“There should be half a banana in the fridge.” I told him.

He retrieved it and began slicing & dividing.

“How about some melon?” I asked trying to distract him from pouring yet more soya milk & orange juice into the already overflowing pot.

“Yeah.” He shouted running off in search of melon.

I chopped up the melon & mopped up the carnage that he had left behind.

“What do you wanna call it?” I asked.

“I dunno.” He answered thoughtfully.

“How about Zephy’s fruit salad?” I posed rather predictably.

“Yeah,” He said smiling broadly. “Take a photograph ‘cos this might be the last thing I make for the blog.”

We didn’t end up eating it that night, as we were so full from the rice pudding. And after a night in the fridge the banana was a bit too brown for our liking but even without it he got a 10 out of 10 from me. 🙂

20110921-080911.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Dessert, Drinks, Fruit, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Zephy’s Fruit Salad.

  1. kath says:

    Just wanted to say how much I love your blog! Both the recipe bits and the anecdotes about your son and wife. It always brightens me up. Thanks! (& to Zeph too)

  2. Stef says:

    I love that already at the age of 7 (or is he 8 now?) your son can improvise in the kitchen. Many *adults* I know can’t do this – fantastic.

  3. roger edwards says:

    it looks lovely zeph. can you make it when we come over? love yaya xxx

  4. Mistral Zagni says:

    Really yummy Zephy. Thanks and Well done!

Leave a Reply

