Banana & Mango Milkshake.

Monday 3rd October 2011

Way back when I didn’t eat meat, you were allowed to eat fish & still wave the vegetarian flag. I didn’t eat very much of it though. Not because I didn’t like it but more because I was a student and lazy & thoughtless about what I put in my body. The only fish I ever ate was fingers & boil-in-the-bag cod in parsley sauce.

Despite eating fish I was adamant that I didn’t want to eat meat. My Mum, bless her, made a huge effort to cook meatless alternatives whenever possible. Making sure I wasn’t served meat gravies or that meat stocks weren’t used for my meals.

Unfortunately, not everybody in the world is concerned with the plight of a vegetarian. ๐Ÿ˜‰

“Has this got meat in it Nan?” I would ask.

“No, oh that’s lovely, that. It’s pea soup with the bit of boiled bacon we had for lunch on Sunday.” She’d reply.

“That’s meat isn’t it?” I’d tell her.

“Well, it’s only a bit of bacon!” She’d say.

Nutritionally, it probably did me a favor having the odd bit of bacon or ham in my meals.

Nan wasn’t the only culprit. When I moved to Spain 18 years ago, the only vegetarian meal you could get was an omelet & even then you had to ask if it had meat in it. More often than not a plain omelet would come with ham as standard.

Without wanting to bang on about my abstinence from dairy, fast forward 20 years & I find myself in a similar predicament.

“Did you put butter on it?” I enquired about a stray piece of toast on the chopping board.

“Yeah why?,” She said.

“I cant have it.” I told her.

“Oh yeah, sorry.” She realised. “Well, it’s only a little bit.”

Some things never change. ๐Ÿ˜‰

My son, Zephyrus, made this on Sunday morning. After completing a particularly difficult puzzle together we adjourn to the kitchen to reward ourselves.

“We’ll make it with your milk Daddy so you can have some.”

Blessed are the meek. ๐Ÿ™‚

20111003-094046 PM.jpg

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dairy-Free, Drinks, Fruit, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Banana & Mango Milkshake.

  1. Stef says:

    Aw, that’s so sweet that he’s thinking of you! What a sensitive kiddo. (Most of the time.) ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. LOL, “it’s only a bit of bacon!”
    Love the look of a milkshake in a pilsner glass. Cool idea!

  3. roger edwards says:

    the ingrediants sound just my cup of tea. what’s it taste like with YOUR MILK???

  4. Mistral Zagni says:

    This was yunmmy and wonderful to wake up to after a long lie in!

Leave a Reply

