Chicken & Shiitake Mushroom Risotto.

Wednesday 5th October 2011

“Oooh, that’s not fair! What’s that?” He asked, as if it mattered. 😉 “I want that!”

“Of course you do.” I said sarcastically.

My son, Zephy, has taken to saying this to anything that I have on my plate that he doesn’t have on his.

“Can I have a bit?” He asked leaning in a taking a fork full of my risotto. “Why can’t I have that?”

“Because yours has got mushrooms in it & can’t eat mushrooms.” I told him.

I knew I should have made us all the same thing but I had some dried shiitake mushrooms to use up & I’m trying to be aware that even if I can’t eat something I should continue to make it for my wife & son so they don’t lose out on the good stuff. Mine was the same as theirs, but instead of mushrooms I used sun dried tomatoes.

“Mmmm…that’s nice.” He said taking another mouthful.

He’s lucky I can’t make small amounts of anything. I boxed up a portion & put it in the freezer for a rainy day. Maybe it will rain this weekend. 🙂

20111005-115216 PM.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Rice, Vegetarianish and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chicken & Shiitake Mushroom Risotto.

  1. Stef says:

    They say the grass is always greener on the other side… I’m sure BOTH versions were lovely. 🙂

  2. Sounds wonderful, looks fabulous, and now I want some!

  3. roger edwards says:

    put me down for 2 helpings

  4. Mistral Zagni says:

    Avery tasty risotto……in fact both types were yummy!

Leave a Reply

