Hamburguesa Completa.

Thursday 6th October 2011

A hamburger just isn’t complete without salad. Onion, lettuce & tomato. It softens up what would otherwise be a piece of fried meat inside a bit of bread. You can keep your mustard & ketchup but the O.L.T. are a must.

On our way home from an afternoon at my Nan’s house, we would sometimes take one of my Dad’s infamous detours & head to a take-away burger bar called ‘Hunger Cure’. As I’ve mentioned before, take away food was a big deal at the end of the 70’s which made it that much more exciting.

My sisters & I would wait in the, seatbelt-less, back seats of the car while my Dad would run in a get our order.

They served a 100% flame grilled burger, a huge toasted bun, fresh tomato & crispy lettuce – a classic burger.

Fortunately my first taste of a real burger wasn’t under the golden arches.

Unfortunately ‘Hunger Cure’ isn’t there anymore but the memory lives on.

20111006-101601 PM.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Beef, Lunch, Organic and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hamburguesa Completa.

  1. roger edwards says:

    hoorah for you and your burgers

  2. Stef says:

    I like your burger’s presentation. I do keep the ketchup & mustard, though. Sadly, many McD burgers were consumed in my youth…

  3. Mistral Zagni says:

    A wonderful burger as always. the salad for me makes a burger,

Leave a Reply

