Raspberries.

Friday 7th October 2011

“Don’t forget to eat them ‘cos they’ll be gone by tomorrow. I got them for you & Zeph.” My wife told me.

It’s unusual for us to get raspberries at all here, let alone this late in the season. I can only imagine that Spain exports them to other countries like they do long cucumbers, because we definitely have the weather to grow them. It’s curious that a country doesn’t have the custom to eat the fruit & vegetables that it grows.

In fact, while we were holidaying in the UK this summer I went out fruit shopping & in an attempt to reduce my carbon footprint I was scanning the labels for provenance when I came across seedless, black & white grapes that were from Spain. Now I love grapes but don’t possess the patients required to pick out all the pips. Therefore, as the seedless does what it says on the box they get my vote everytime. I’m sure if I was a real man, like my Dad, I’d eat the pips as well. ๐Ÿ˜‰

It seems I have to go to another country to sample my own country’s wares.

So with my strict instructions, we sat in Zephy’s bed & a read his book eating them like squirrels feasting on nuts.

“What did one Raspberry say to the other on valentines day?” I asked as I was leaving the room.

“What?”

“I love you berry much!” I continued.

“Dad,” He began. “will you please…shut up!” ๐Ÿ˜‰

“Good night, god bless darling. See you in the morning.” I said as I left the room.

20111007-104047 PM.jpg

This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Dessert, Fruit, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Raspberries.

  1. Stef says:

    Just don’t store your berries in a bird nest. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Cute story – and thanks for the call out!

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    glad you did as you were told!

Leave a Reply

