Smörgåsbord.

Sunday 9th October 2011

“Is that mine?” He asked wide eyed.

“Yeah,” I said. “I haven’t made you a smorgasbord for ages, have I?”

“Can I have it in front of the tele please?” He asked with hands in praying position & bottom lip bulging. “Go on, it is Sunday.”

How could I resist. 😉

“Go on then, get your table ready.”

We went out for lunch today & so as none of us were particularly hungry, it seemed the perfect excuse for an icky-picky dinner.

When he was younger this would have been his favourite dinner. He liked the idea of being able to make choices about what he ate & in what order he ate it.

Once while staying with my Mum for the weekend she asked;

“What would you like for dinner Zephy?”

He thought carefully before answering.

“Errm, a smorgasbord please.”

Mum was a bit confused as what he was talking about but he took her to the kitchen a talked her through the makings of the perfect buffet selection.

Everyone loves a precocious child, right? 😉

Back to the tele room, I returned to find that he had already devoured the tuna mayonnaise with caper pinchos, tomatoes & even the leaves of coriander.

“How you getting on there?” I asked chuckling to myself. “You enjoying that are you?”

“Yeah.” He replied smiling. 🙂

I’ve done my job.

20111009-094608 PM.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Dessert, Dinner, Fish, Fruit, Vegetarianish and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Smörgåsbord.

  1. Stef says:

    What a fun meal idea! You have definitely “done your job”. 😉

  2. roger edwards says:

    you must have some scandinavian in you. you make the best smorg bord

Leave a Reply

