Grilled Courgettes.

Wednesday 12th October 2011

We only started thinking about what we eat when we became pregnant with my son, Zephyrus. We had tried for a long time to conceive & I think we realised that if we were going to do it right, eating well was only going to be of benefit. Before that, the whole affair was a bit lackadaisical. Fruit & vegetables weren’t consumed routinely & there wasn’t the eclectic mix of meals that we enjoy today. What I served up was good, even if I do say so myself, but more often than not there wouldn’t have been any side dishes.

Now that I’ve grown up 😉 , having a healthy, well-balanced, home-cooked meal has become more of a priority. But finding a vegetable accompaniment for a boiled egg & soliders can sometimes get me thinking.

One way around this dilemma is to serve two separate plates, like a first & second course. This is how they present it at my son’s school. He’ll have sautéed vegetables as his first plate, followed by grilled chicken served on a separate plate. Personally I could serve the two on the same plate but each to their own.

Salads are useful for spaghetti or rice based meal but not so good for eggs on toast. Thankfully hot or cold green beans can be eaten with most things including a sandwich.

I made these a few weeks back to accompany the Cuban rice we had for lunch.

They went down like a treat. 🙂

20111012-095157 PM.jpg

This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Lunch, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Grilled Courgettes.

  1. I love your son’s name! This dish looks like a delicious side dish for a variety of meals. Thanks for visiting my blog! ps what are “soldiers”??

  2. Stef says:

    I have to have both fruit and veg at every meal (except for breakfast; fruit but no veg there) – and I find that steamed broccoli with a bit of butter is good with eggs, as are the green beans that you mentioned. Courgettes also work well, too – and so do roasted veggies. Lots of options!

  3. Mistral Zagni says:

    I love these courgettes.

Leave a Reply

