Lentil & Chorizo Stew.

Thursday 13th October 2011

I’m embarrassed to say that lentils were never part of my diet when I was a vegetarian. Probably the single most associated produce to vegetarianism & they never passed my lips.

Shame on me. 😉

Before I became a veggie however, I ate them under duress.

When I was 11 years old my parents went into business for themselves. It was a huge undertaking which meant working away at weekends. Most of the time my sisters & I were happy to travel with them & take full advantage of the country life but sometimes, if we were lucky, my sister, Jane, & I got to stay at my Uncle & Auntie’s house for the weekend.

Everything was different at their house. They were (& still are 😉 ) 10 years younger than my parents which meant that they grew up in a very different decade. A decade where travelling the world was more important than getting your foot on the property ladder & when two-meat-and-veg meals were replaced by brown rice & lentil. They were hippies basically. Or the closest I’d ever come to free-living, kaftan wearing, ‘Joy of sex’ owning bohemians. Jane & I loved it there. Uncle Joe was fun, youthful, a bit crazy & virtually the only extended family member we had any kind of relationship with.

Happy days. 🙂

My Auntie Jennifer was, by all accounts, a very good cook. Something that completely went over our heads as we were served up delights straight from the vegetarian bible ‘Moosewood Cookbook‘.

Living up to the cliché, I do remember eating brown rice for the first time at their house & of course, lentils. Jane & I both thought they were weird (the food, that is. Not Jenny & Joe. 😉 ) but we survived to tell the tale & I, personally, would like to think that if it wasn’t for being given that ‘weird food’ 30 years ago, I wouldn’t be using it today.

Thanks Jen. 🙂

20111013-101525 PM.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Dinner, Pork and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lentil & Chorizo Stew.

  1. Stef says:

    Cool relatives! My dad has 3 younger brothers, and my sister and I got to spend some time as kids with the third in line – who is about 5 years younger than my dad. He wasn’t/isn’t a hippie, but is more of a ‘rule breaker’ versus rule follower (like my parents are). So my sister and I delighted in spending time with them, as we got to do all sorts of crazy, unsafe stuff. Good times, indeed. 😉

Leave a Reply

