Fried Egg & Chips.

Friday 14th October 2011

Living in the heart of the city has its benefits. My journey to & from work is about 20 minutes door-to-door, which at my stage in life is far more important than having a cinema on my doorstep. But where there’s a profit there’s always a loss of some sort.

When you have 1.6 million people living in a relatively small space there are going to be issues. We all need somewhere to empty our rubbish, domestic animals need somewhere to relieve themselves & restaurants need somewhere for their extractor fans to extract to. Unfortunately there’s a bloody great atmosphere out there, involuntarily, storing up all those polluting smells for us to breathe.

Never do we get the chance to smell cut grass or rain soaked leaves. Instead we are treated to the delights of rubbish bins on a 28°C day or the pungent odor of fresh dog pee. (& the other!)

But not all bad smells are bad. Some bad smells are good.

You follow me?

Take petrol fumes for example. Some may say it’s a nauseating smell but I love it. It reminds me of hanging out of the car window watching my Dad fill up the car before we headed off on a journey.

The sickly sweet smell of chip fat frying is another. It takes me back to a time when my Mum spent most of her day blanching chips, scampi, jumbo sausages & anything else that could be thrown into a deep fat fryer.

Smells can be evocative.

20111014-111901 PM.jpg

This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Dinner, Eggs, Organic, Potatoes, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fried Egg & Chips.

  1. I so want to have a plate of chips right now… lucky you!

  2. Stef says:

    I wrote about the noxious smell thing in my aromatherapy post (see the exchange between Carla and I, about mid-way down in the comments): http://smilekiddo.wordpress.com/2011/10/04/96-get-an-aromatherapy-diffuser-for-my-car/

Leave a Reply

