Minute Steak, Cauliflower Cheese & Baked Potato.

Monday 17th October 2011

I feel the need, the need for…meat.

I wasn’t actually looking for these steaks as I wandered around the supermarket. I was drawn in by the organic sticker on the front. I’m a sucker for those pictures of animals grazing in golden pastures or rolling valleys. It’s a wonderful marketing trick that works a treat on people like me.

It seem ironic that the stuff that isn’t sprayed with chemical or isn’t injected with steroids cost more than the stuff that is. I guess it has a lot to do with quantity. The more you can sell of something, the cheaper it becomes. If everybody ate free-range beef the price would come down. Until then I’m gonna be paying through the nose for it.

Every little helps.

The cauliflower cheese was dairy-free & in my humble opinion, not a patch on the real cheese variety. But both Zeph & my wife, lapped it up without any complaints. Although my wife did, after enquiring what was for dinner, question the pairing of meat & cheese. Like all of us, she has her food preferences.

For the jacket spuds I by-passed the microwave & went for the crunchy, fluffy baked potato. It really does make a real difference.

20111017-103210 PM.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Beef, Dairy-Free, Dinner, Potatoes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Minute Steak, Cauliflower Cheese & Baked Potato.

  1. rutheh says:

    Looks like comfort food to me. I love a REAL baked potato. Yum.

  2. Stef says:

    The little things (local foods over imported, natural over chemical, oven over microwaved) all really DO make a big difference.

  3. Mistral Zagni says:

    This beef was so flavoursome and the potato was scrummy. It does make a difference having good meatx

Leave a Reply

