Chicken Goujons, Cous Cous Salad & Cucumber with Mint Salsa.

Tuesday 18th October 2011

Over the past few months I’ve found myself looking to my own blog for inspiration for what to have for dinner. This was one of those times. It’s quite handy having my very own photographic image library of meals to refer to for a quick reminder of what I could make. Even if, like this time, I actually let myself down.

After deciding on what I was going to make, I looked for the cooking instructions. But alas there weren’t any.

*Note to self: Don’t forget to actually put the recipe.

To be honest, writing the recipe can sometimes get in the way of what I actually want to say! Never the less, it is a necessary evil. So here goes.

I took the pre-packed chicken breasts out of the freezer the night before, to give them time to thaw sufficiently. Unfortunately, my freezer organisation leaves something to be desired & what I though was whole chicken breasts, that I could cut into 1cm strips, ended up being pre-cut into slices.

Such is life-slices shmices!

I placed 3 bowls in a line. One with beaten egg, another with seasoned flour & the third with crushed ready salted crisps. Each slice was first dusted with the flour before being thrown into the egg mixture & finally covered in the crushed crisps.

I then shallow fried them to colour each side before baking them in the oven for 10 minutes.

The salsa was a 2″ piece of cucumber julienned, mixed with a pot of (soya) yoghurt, a whole lemon, juiced, with a big handful of chopped mint. Mix & season to taste.

And to finish my deviation into the world of food blogging 😉 , I sautéed onions, garden peas & peppers and mixed them together with hazelnuts, raisins, sunflower seeds & the cous cous.

My son, Zephy, enjoyed eating the cous cous from the coconut shell.

20111018-094214 PM.jpg

This entry was posted in Chicken, Dairy-Free, Dinner, Fruit, Vegetarianish and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chicken Goujons, Cous Cous Salad & Cucumber with Mint Salsa.

  1. Stef says:

    I’m not sure how chicken counts as “vegetarianish”…. 😉

Leave a Reply

