Chicken & Broad Bean Korma with Turmeric Pilau, Cucumber & Mint Sauce & Tomato Salad.

Wednesday 19th October 2011

Curry is the undisputed national dish of Britain. And as such everybody knows how to make one of some description. Having said that, it’s always preferable to get a take out from one of the thousands of Indian restaurant in the UK.

I’ve spoken before about the infamous Akash Tandorri Restaurant in the shopping precinct where my Mum lives. My wife & I get to go there perhaps once or twice a year but the staff there always remember us & make a big enough fuss of us for us to feel looked after.

This summer past, we forwent our annual pilgrimage down to the dilapidated shopping centre to eat in, & instead chose to get a take away for my whole family as a thank you for putting up with us invading their home. It was the perfect opportunity to show my son, Zephyrus, the sights & smells of this well-heeled curry emporium.

“Hello mate,” Said Ajmel the long standing head waiter-ish type guy who always serves us. “Is he yours?” He continued pointing at Zeph with a big smile on his face.

“Yeah, we though we’d bring him down to show him what all the fuss is about.” I told him draping my arm across Zephy’s shoulder to make him feel less stared at. “Can we get some food to take away?”

“Sure you can mate.” He said handing over the glossy black menus.

Me, my wife, Zeph & my great-nephew squeezed into a corner table & began to peruse the vast menu.

Once our extensive order had been taken, Ajmel came over to the table & placed a little silver serving tray on the table.

“This is for you mate.” He said to Zeph.

On the tray, still in their recognisable black paper wrappers, were two After Eight mints.

“Thank you.” Zephy sang. (That’s years of training right there. Two simple words said at precisely the right time.)

We collected our order & started the walk home.

“So what did you think of it in there then Zeph?” I said excited to get his take on the place.

“Good,” He said nonchalantly. “I don’t like After Eights but I do like curry.”

A man after my own heart.

20111020-122541 AM.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dairy-Free, Dinner, Rice and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chicken & Broad Bean Korma with Turmeric Pilau, Cucumber & Mint Sauce & Tomato Salad.

  1. Amanda says:

    That looks delicious Jon. Very impressed by the tray, Mr Drage will be jealous!

  2. Stef says:

    Years of good training, indeed! Nice work!

  3. Mistral Zagni says:

    A ver tasty curry. Great ingredients. Loved the broad beans.

Leave a Reply

