Stuffed Aubergine.

Friday 21st October 2011

There was a bit of yesterday’s spaghetti bolognese left over which wouldn’t have made a decent sized lasagne for 5 so I had to come up with something meaty enough for Dad but also filling.

Thursdays are busy days. Zephy has two after school clubs that he has to be ferried to & from which means we get back with enough time for bath, dinner, books & then bed. Dinner, either has to be made in advance or made in the same time that it takes an 8 year old boy to have a bath. In other words, quick.

I cooked the dessert rice for about 10 minutes. Just until it was al dente then combined it with the leftover spaghetti sauce. Then left for work.

When I popped back just before lunch I put the halved aubergines in the oven with a bit of salt & pepper and a dribble of olive oil for 20 minutes. Turned off the oven & went back to work.

Thankfully I get another chance to go home again before I run to pick my son, Zephy, after school. At which point I hollowed out the aubergines, finely chopped the contents & added it to the spaghetti & rice mixture. I then filled the empty aubergines with the mixture.

My Dad loves white sauce & so I had promised that there would be a white sauce. What I didn’t let on, is that it would be dairy-free. I grated some cheddar cheese over everybody else’s, except mine, to make up for the lack of taste.

Fingers crossed no-one wouldn’t notice.

Anyway we arrive back late from football practice so I threw the baking tray in the oven & started the bath.

25 minutes later we all sat down for dinner & nobody was none the wiser…I don’t think.

20111022-122033 AM.jpg

20111023-123837 AM.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Beef, Dairy-Free, Dinner, Rice and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Stuffed Aubergine.

  1. rutheh says:

    Reminds me of twice-baked potatoes. Looks delicious.

  2. Stef says:

    Wow, this was a pretty complex recipe, what with all the back-and-forth. I hope your family appreciates all of your efforts!

  3. I’m going to have to start stuffing eggplants. You make them look and sound delicious.

  4. Mistral Zagni says:

    These were lovely regardless of the dairy free products!

Leave a Reply

