Buttifarra, Mashed Sweet Potato & Brussel Sprouts with Bacon & Onion.

Monday 24th October 2011

Being a part-time house husband has it’s advantages. I get an enormous sense of pride out of creating a comfortable home for my family & of course, the time to be able to feed my family well. However, being a stay at home Dad means I am in the minority, especially here in Spain.

Over time I’ve become more interested in where my food comes from. And so have worked out where to get decent bread, free-range eggs, organic chicken & other sustainable meat sources.

This has been a long process during which I have made thousands of mistakes. From buying cheap, watery meat to eggs that I thought were free-range, but mostly from thinking that quantity was a bigger necessity than quality. An easy mistake to make in this land of plenty in which I live.

My butcher I’ve been using for only a couple of years now & (almost) everything I buy from them is quality. It is not cheap but as our meat bill has gone down over the years it’s an expense I don’t mind paying for.

There is a very sweet woman who always serves me & answers all my meat related questions. But as it’s unusual for men to be seen doing the shopping, I’m considered quite a novelty. She smiles broadly, bordering on patronisingly, as she listens to my order. Then hands it over to me along with a nugget of wisdom about what part of the animal it came from or how long it’s been hung for. It’s almost worth being treated like a child for the lesson.

So I have my egg man down the road & I have my chicken woman in the market, I even have my bread shop near the gym. All I’m missing to complete my portfolio is a candlestick-makers I’ll keep you posted, literally.

20111024-114946 PM.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Dinner, Pork, Potatoes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Buttifarra, Mashed Sweet Potato & Brussel Sprouts with Bacon & Onion.

  1. Stef says:

    My favorite was the baker. (“What? What’s he doing? What’s he making? Cakes, pies, doughnuts…?”) Too cute. 🙂

Leave a Reply

