Warm Duck Breast Salad.

Wednesday 26th October 2011

All work & no play leaves me with very little time for cooking. Thankfully, my Mum is on hand to cook up a storm.

Here’s one I made a while back but never got round to posting.

I found this duck breast in a local supermarket. I’ve only ever seen them in France before so I snapped it up. It’s amazing how much fat comes out of a single breast, so I thought I’d show Zephy the process of what happens when you render the fat from the breast.

After scoring the skin, I placed it into a hot, dry pan. Before I did this I show my son, Zeph, the thick, white layer of skin on the breast.

“You watch, that’ll all melt down in the pan & the skin will eventually go all crispy.” I told him.

I then placed it skin side down on the pan. Literally, within the space of a few minutes my griddle was swimming in duck oil.

Once the skin was brown, I put it into a roasting dish & placed it in the oven for a further 15 minutes.

“Look at that,” I said as I purred the hot fat from both pans into an empty capers jar. “Pretty impressive, isn’t it?”

It had half filled a 200ml jar.

“Yeah, kind of.” He replied.

He may not have sounded impress but his eyes certainly were.

20111027-121231 AM.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Dinner, Duck, Potatoes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Warm Duck Breast Salad.

  1. Stef says:

    The salad bit of your salad looks lovely.

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    I love this dish. The duck is always perfectly cooked.

Leave a Reply

