Boeuf Bourguignon.

Friday 28th October 2011

“What veg shall we have with that then?” I would ask out loud.

“Carrots?” Dad would say.

If Dad had his way carrots would be served with every meal. For some reason he has a penchant for them. Pile them high on his plate & he’ll eat them. Zephy likes a carrot too & happily eats them raw as an afternoon snack. I think it’s the sweetness that lures them in. They are very non-offensive, they go with most things & can be stored for ages without going off. You can’t ask for much more from a veg.

I let the bourguignon cook for about an hour & a half on a low heat. I wanted to have a little bite left in the carrots & be able to chew on the meat. The last time I made it, I cooked it for so long it all disintegrated.

20111029-120228 AM.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Beef, Dairy-Free, Dinner, Potatoes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Boeuf Bourguignon.

  1. Stef says:

    My mom used to make this meal often as well. She would cook it in the crock pot: potatoes first, then onions, then meat, and finally carrots. Top with seasonings and a bit of water, cover, turn on HIGH and walk away. I liked it. 🙂

  2. I did try making this once, the recipe had red wine in it and I wasn’t a big fan. Yours looks perfect! Yum!

  3. roger edwards says:

    i thought it was very tasty. bring on the carrots. hoorah

  4. Mistral Zagni says:

    Oh this was absolutely delicious and perfectly cooked. So tasty.x

Leave a Reply

