Bread & Butter Pudding.

Saturday 29th October 2011

With Mum & Dad here, every time I walk past a baker’s I pop in & get a couple of sticks of bread for us all to have lunch. Thinking the same as me, Mum & Dad have done the same. As a result we now have a glut of bread. So as I never like anything to go to waste, Mum & I came up with a few recipes

“Did you make it with soya butter?” I asked Mum.

“Oh spit!” She replied. “I forgot all about it. I remembered the soya milk but didn’t think about the butter. Oh I am sorry.”

“Don’t worry, I’ll make another one.” I said.

And so I set about making one for myself.

“You didn’t put any raisins in your?” I asked.

“No, I’m not keen on raisins. I put dates in instead.” Mum said.

“Ooh, that’s a good idea.” I said depiping some dates & chopping them up. “Might be nice with some walnuts too.” I continued crushing a handful & adding them to the raisins & dates. “Do you want some?”

“Oh no, not me dear. I’m very traditional.” She replied with a smile.

The first night both puddings were presented after dinner & Zephy was given the choice of which one he wanted. He chose my Mum’s.

Not one to be deterred easily, I served him up a little portion & gave it to him while we read books the night after.

He picked out all the shards of walnut & poked them in my mouth as I read.

I guess he’s traditional too.

20111030-125024 AM.jpg

This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Dessert, Eggs, Fruit, Organic, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bread & Butter Pudding.

  1. rutheh says:

    Bread pudding reminds me of my childhood. Sweet!

  2. Stef says:

    Nuts are funny. Some people swear by them, others swear because of them. 😉

  3. roger edwards says:

    very tasty.very naughty.

    this was my dad’s favourite. he had a very sweet tooth. ma

  4. Mistral Zagni says:

    bread and pudding is a favourite of mine too. My grandma used to make a lovely one and I made a good one in school home economics class at secondary school…or so I remember!

Leave a Reply

