Alaskan Crab Legs with Lemon Mayonnaise.

Monday 31st October 2011

“They’re not real.” Zephy said as he approached the table.

I know what he means. They look like something out of a cartoon.

“If the legs are that long, imagine what size the body is.” I said.

His eyes widened slightly at the thought.

I remember the first time I had them I thought similarly. Some friends took us to a restaurant down by the harbour in Seattle, U.S.A. They were served on a plate of ice, on a foot high stand, hanging over the edge. I was impressed, to say the least, to see half a dozen over-sized, salmon coloured claws dangling from the side of my plate.

I cut the legs open with a pair of scissors & pulled out the meat to make it easier for Zephy to get on & eat. I also left the claw on his plate to remind him of what he was eating.

I then prepared my Dad’s plate & turned, only to see him teasing Yaya (my Mum) with the claw.

“Get outta here ya stinker!” She said.

20111101-120454 AM.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Dinner, Eggs, Seafood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Alaskan Crab Legs with Lemon Mayonnaise.

  1. Stef says:

    A stinker indeed. 😉

  2. Wow. You ate well for dinner last night. 😉 I’ve never liked to imagine the size of them. Too spidery and I DO NOT like spiders. Awfully tasty spiders, however.

  3. Lucky Zephy! What a gourmet treat!

  4. Mistral Zagni says:

    yes a real treat for us all and the lemon mayonnaise went so well with them, loved to have them again but they are a bit pricey!

  5. roger edwards says:

    i’m saving up to have them again when we visit. ma

Leave a Reply

