Stewed Apple with Cream.

Tuesday 1st November 2011

We are fairly new to this Halloween lark. My family never celebrated it when I was a kid, favouring Guy Fawkes Night instead. But since we had Zephy, not a celebration passes us by without us doing something.

Yesterday we did apple bobbing.

“Let’s time it.” Zephy said. “We have to see how many apples we can pick up in one minute, I’ll go first.”

And so he kicked off with a mighty 18 apples in just 60 seconds.

Up next was Avi (my Dad).

“Can we pick them up by the stalk?” He asked worried that his dental plate would get lodged in the first apple he bit into.

“No, no picking them up by the stalk.” Zephy replied rather unsympathetically.

Dad tried hard but only managed to get his mouth around just one.

My wife took up the batten & plunged her face into the luke warm water. Her determination paid off & she surfaced with 7.

Finally, it was my turn. And after a slow start I came up with, a not too shabby, 13.

We all congratulated Zeph on his magnificent achievement & then I cored, peeled & diced the battered & bruised apples for dessert.

20111102-121544 AM.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Fruit, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stewed Apple with Cream.

  1. rutheh says:

    Mmmmmmmm, good to the apples and cream. Congrats to Zephy on his accomplishment.

  2. Stef says:

    I’ve never heard of Guy Fawkes Night. Interesting reading there….

    And wow, Zephy with EIGHTEEN apples??!! That’s some gusto!

  3. roger edwards says:

    i want a rematch

Leave a Reply

