Moules au Roquefort avec Frite.

Wednesday 2nd November 2011

First thing we do when we arrive in France is visit the big hypermarket. Before I’ve even walked through the automatic doors I know what I’m going to buy. First it’s bread then follow the aisle along to the fishmonger’s before hitting the fruit & veg and meat coolers.

They have an extensive selection of fish & seafood there & although sometimes we may change what fish we order, we always get mussels.

Unfortunately my Dad has a slight aversion to eating messy food with his fingers. The complete opposite to my son, Zephyrus.

Poor Dad struggled with a dozen shells before calling it a day & wading into the bread.

“Sorry Dad,” I said having forgotten about his phobia. “I forgot that you have to pick these up with your fingers. I should have chosen quails or spare ribs.”

Dad laughed, never fussed about what he eats just as long as he’s got bread.

The perfect guest.

“It’s easy Avi look, you just do this.” Zephy said lashing into his bowl of crustaceans with his hands, up to the elbows in cheese sauce.

20111103-120402 AM.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Potatoes, Seafood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Moules au Roquefort avec Frite.

  1. Stef says:

    I’m with your dad on this one; I prefer to not fight with my food. 🙂

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    yummy as always

  3. roger edwards says:

    i love mussels and cos’ dad doesn’t i get his share. but in my own defense i do offer to shell them for him , also they must be accompanied by chips. ma

Leave a Reply

