Lamb Chops, Baby New Potatoes, Broccoli & Baked Shallot.

Thursday 3rd November 2011

Presentation is key to getting kids to eat well. If you serve up lumpy mashed potato, smeared on the side of the plate, you would watch with little surprise how it gets left. But serve that same mashed potato in half a coconut shell & your laughing. (I’m saying this on a day when the plate of food I served wasn’t particularly well presented, so as not to blow my own trumpet too loudly. šŸ˜‰ )

I’ve always made a point of showing Zephy what he is about to eat in its entirety before cutting it up or scooping it out of a shell.

This was the case with this meal.

Lamb chops aren’t easy to eat. For a start they have a bone which in its self is difficult to negotiate & then there’s the fat & grissle that you also have to wade through before you even get to the succulent jewels of pink meat.

I’m usually on top of this process & make sure that if he isn’t busy cutting it up I’ll facilitate & nudge him in the right direction. But on this occasion it managed to slip my attention & as I turned I caught him wrestling with a bloody great chop in his hand & a huge chunk of fat hanging out of his mouth.

“Wait, wait, wait!” I cried. “You can’t eat it like that.”

He reluctantly released the offending chop & I set to work trying to gouge out what little edible matter there was on it.

To be honest, it was hardly worth it. My beautiful gems were a little thin on the ground.

20111103-111723 PM.jpg

This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Dinner, Lamb, Potatoes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lamb Chops, Baby New Potatoes, Broccoli & Baked Shallot.

  1. Stef says:

    A roasted shallot? Does one eat it straight? Or is it more a ‘condiment’ for the other items on the plate?

  2. roger edwards says:

    but i ate it anyway and enjoyed it

Leave a Reply

