Baked Bananas with Brandy.

Friday 4th November 2011

“There’s the bananas there if you want to do something with them. You could do baked bananas.” I said to Mum as I was getting ready to leave for work.

“How’d you do that then?” She asked.

“Peel the bananas & cut them in half down the middle. Put them in the Pyrex dish, here, & sprinkle brown sugar on top. The brown sugar’s in the cupboard here.” I said pointing to the larder. “Then splash a bit of brandy over them.”

“Ooh that sounds really lovely Jon. I’m gonna do that.” She said with real intent.

She never did get time to make it & nor did I until she left yesterday. But it was Mum’s seal of approval that spurred me into making it last night & the fact that the bananas were looking a little worse for wear & probably wouldn’t make it through the night.

As I started pulling the bananas apart, I reflected on how great it had been to cook with Mum this past few weeks. It’s nice to have someone to ask questions of, bounce ideas off & to generally be around while I pulled it all together in the kitchen. She was great company to have in my work space & useful to boot. Thanks for being my sous chef Mum.

I gave Zephy a fairly healthy portion after dinner & garnished it with some single cream. What was once a big, fat, hearty fruit when raw, gets reduced to a soft, gooey, caramelised banana that mixes beautifully with the cream.

“Dad?,” Zephyrus asked when he had finished. “Can I have a little bit more please?…Just a little bit.”

“Of course you can darling.”

Two votes of confidence in one week. Oh, the heady heights!

20111104-103241 PM.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Dessert, Fruit, Vegetarian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Baked Bananas with Brandy.

  1. What a great way to make these! I saw a chef whip them up in a pan with flames everywhere… this looks much simpler:) Yum!

  2. Stef says:

    Three generations in the same kitchen (and all admiring your handiwork to boot)…I love it.

  3. rutheh says:

    Simply delicious! YUM

  4. Mistral Zagni says:

    these are always a real tasty dessert.yummy!

  5. roger edwards says:

    i wish i could have remembered to do them when we were there. they look really scrumptious. i am going to try them for jayden (without the brandy). trouble is, bananas dont last long in our house,dad eats them. ma

Leave a Reply

