‘Potro’ Burger with Cheese & Salad in Ciabatta.

Monday 7th November 2011

Only but a few years ago, if you had offered me a horse meat burger, I would have wrinkled my nose & reluctantly agreed to trying a little bit. Today I would choose them over any other kind of burger.

Ever since my son, Zephyrus, was born I’ve tried to expose his palette to an eclectic feast of different foods. From raw fish to foie gras & lambs hearts to octopus. All of which have gone down & stayed down with varying degrees of success. I did contemplate for a millisecond, the first time I served him up grilled liver, telling him it was something he was familia with, like beef. But instead chose to call it what it is, thinking that, for him, it was just food which he would either like or dislike. The name I gave it played no part in whether he ate it or not.

Now, if we try something new, like snails, I watch in amazement how he just excepts that what we are eating are snails. Those little animals that are in grandma’s garden & that Daddy sometimes walks on when he takes the rubbish out. He even points out the little antennas before plunging it into the garlic mayonnaise.

“What’s in a name? That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet.” Said Juliet.

20111107-111436 PM.jpg

This entry was posted in Dinner, Horse meat, Organic and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ‘Potro’ Burger with Cheese & Salad in Ciabatta.

  1. Mistral Zagni says:

    this was a great burger as always,,,the horse meat has a different taste to beef but a good lighter taste I would say! It’s great that Zeph is happy to try anything regardless of what it is..makes eating out easy and less stressful at friends and families!!

  2. My fav. movie line of all time: Christopher Walken, Mousehunt– He’s an exterminator. The mouse he is chasing has driven him mad. The owners find him tied up, apparently by the mouse. They ask him what has happened. He answers, “What’s that?!! Horse!! Fiendish! I won’t eat it!” Just the first thing that crossed my mind when I read this. 😉
    Fabulous that your son isn’t afraid to try new things. My older boy will try anything, but my little guy is a bit more squeamish.

  3. roger edwards says:

    we enjoyed ” black beauty” burgers when we were there

Leave a Reply

