Chicken Stew with Ginger.

Tuesday 8th November 2011

As I steam into the home stretch of my daily blogging challenge, I’ve been looking over the meals I made this time last year & was quite surprised to find I was making almost the same things at the same time.

Sausages & mash feature were in heavy rotation in those first few months as were spaghetti & poached eggs. (Not together of course. That would be a bit odd.)

Also by pure coincidence, the last time I made chicken stew was almost one year ago to the day. My internal clock must have just clicked round to chicken stew time.

Looking back at what I’ve produced, started me thinking about what skills I’ve learnt from the opportunity.

• Saying something in 25 words rather than 2.
I know, for most people it’s the other way round. If I could say it in 160 characters I would.

• Learning to not overdo the smilies.
It took me a while to work out that I should let the reader have their own emotions rather than impose mine.

• The realisation that I am not an island & without the support of my fellow bloggers (You know who you are.) I would have stopped writing this blog back in February.

• Little things are important & make a difference.
Herbs, dusting meat with flour before frying & turning down the flame on the hob have not only transformed the results of my cooking but have also given the smoke detector a break too.

All valuable lessons I think.

20111108-110737 PM.jpg

This entry was posted in Chicken, Dairy-Free, Dinner, Potatoes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chicken Stew with Ginger.

  1. roger edwards says:

    i love a chicken stew, with barleys, but im not sure about the ginger. can you pick the bones out for me please

  2. Stef says:

    Aw, I love your reflective post! It’s truly been my delight getting to know you through our various written mediums; and I’ll be sad to not see posts from you every day. Perhaps you can write one every so often? (Please?)

    • Rest assured I will be posting more. Just not everyday. It’s pretty intense, isn’t it?

      My plan is to try & post something 3 or so times a week.

      Thanks again Stef. You’ve been a real rock. 🙂

      • Stef says:

        Every day is totally intense. I hear you on that one.

        I really like the 3-times-a-week posting schedule. For me, it’s enough to keep me engaged and interested, but not so much that it feels like a “chore”. It keeps the blog fun, yet also allows me to have a “real” life, too. 😉

        You are most welcome for the support. I’ve delighted in getting to learn more about you and your family over these past many months. 🙂

  3. Mistral Zagni says:

    I’ve definately noticed your increased interest and all the extra effort you have made with trying new dishes and the extra flavours you have added. Your cooking was great before and now it’s even more of a delight to eat. Zephy and I are so lucky to be able to enjoy so many different delights. It adds to our lovely family shared experiences.

Leave a Reply

