Spinach Mash, Garden Peas, Red Pepper, Onion & Bacon with Poached Egg.

Wednesday 9th November 2011

Zephy had footie practice last night which meant we got back late. After we arrived home, my self-imposed deadline gave me 30 minutes to prep, cook & have dinner on the table for 8.00pm. I usually try to either make something during the day, so all I have to do is reheat it, or else have something I froze earlier that I can pull out.

As I laid out the potatoes, onions, bacon, spinach, red pepper, frozen peas & eggs I checked the clock; 7.27pm. I was determined to get this to the table by 8.00. After all, it was only boiled potatoes & an egg.

I then ran around like crazy; cutting, peeling, chopping, stirring, boiling & frying before plating, photographing & taking it to the dinning room table.

After going at break neck speed, it still took me 42 minutes from my recycled shopping bag to dinning room table.

It could have been worse, I suppose.

20111109-115347 PM.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Dinner, Eggs, Organic, Pork, Potatoes, Vegetarianish and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spinach Mash, Garden Peas, Red Pepper, Onion & Bacon with Poached Egg.

  1. What a pretty little, perfectly poached egg. I wish mine turned out so nicely.

  2. roger edwards says:

    looks yummy to me including the peas!!

  3. Stef says:

    42 minutes is an improvement from your usual 60, so take heart there? 🙂

    I agree with Edible Pastry: your egg looks fantastic! You are definitely an egg master.

  4. Mistral Zagni says:

    Yet another tasty meal and I love my veg and this was good on the veg. Oh and yes you do make a perfect poached egg that is beautifully soft and goos out when cut but doesn`t have any slime. Perfect!

Leave a Reply

