Junket with Blackcurrant Jam.

Thursday 10th November 2011

I’ve been trying to make this now for over 6 years with the same bottle of liquid rennet but alas my success rate has been zero. In hindsight, not unsurprisingly.

It didn’t bode well that the big black label on the side of the rennet bottle read; Best before 2005. But I hate wasting anything so I thought I’d give it a last ditched attempt before giving in & trashing it.

This time was gonna be different. I had a thermometer to make sure the (soya) milk was at exactly 34°C & I had trawled the world wide web for hints & tips.

So I set to work.

I brought the milk to 34°C, scraped out my vanilla pod & carefully put in the required 10 drops of rennet before popping the little glass bowels into the fridge to cool.

An hour later I went back, but still no solidification.

Ok, no worries. I brought the liquid back to body temperature & added another 10 drops of rennet.

Back into the fridge.

Another hour passes but still no joy.

Microwave, 10 drops, fridge.

By the fourth time of retrieving it from the refrigerator I started throwing the rennet in with gay abandon almost to the point where the milk was swimming in rennet. I finally gave in & aborted the mission.

A day later I bought a new packet of rennet & bingo! It worked the first time.

“What d’you think Z?” I asked.

“Wait,” He said holding up his hand.

He took a spoonful & savoured it in his mouth.

“So?” I asked again expectantly.

“That was my first mouthful. Now let me have my second.” He continued.

Which he did. Savouring it in much the same way.

“Well?” I asked for the third time.

“Gross!” He said making a vomiting sound. “Nah, not really. It’s nice.”

“Why I oughta!”

20111110-102730 PM.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Dessert, Fruit, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Junket with Blackcurrant Jam.

  1. Stef says:

    You know what they say: “If nothing changes, nothing changes.” Or: “The definition of insanity is doing the same thing again and again, but expecting different results.”

    I have never heard of “junket” before; it sounds good. (I looked it up on our friend Google.) I might have to give it a go one day! 🙂

  2. LOL, your funny boy.
    I have 8 jars of “jelly” sitting on my kitchen counter that didn’t “jell”, waiting for me to buy another pkg. of pectin to take them through the canning process all over again. Frustrating.
    Incidentally, where I live, rennet is only available in tablet form and is sold under the brand name of Junket.

  3. rutheh says:

    What an effort! Looks delicious.

  4. roger edwards says:

    i used to make this for you when you were little. then turned all healthy and made it with skimmed milk.it just doesn’t work without full milk. gone back to being unhealthy. ma

  5. Mistral Zagni says:

    This was gorgeous. Well worth the effort. Please can we have it again. Lovely vanilla flavour. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

