Ovaltine® & Raw Jelly.

Saturday 12th November 2011

We spend a lot of time in our beds. Not just when we are sleeping but also to gather as a family at weekends or as a makeshift office where I can dump all the flotsam & jetsam that seems to gather in my school bag everyday.

It holds the same position for us as perhaps the kitchen table does for other families.

It’s a place of safety & a place to mull over the days events, in comfort.

Every other night I get the chance to read books to my son, Zephyrus. He reads on his own first & then either my wife or I read a few chapters of whatever he is reading at the time. It’s also a damn good excuse to snuggle up with Zeph for a while.

“Come on hurry up!” I said while he languished in the bath. “We’ve still got to have dinner & then there’s a surprise for bedtime.”

Some days he can sit in the bath for 5 seconds others, 5 hours.

“What is it then?” He asked grumpily. We had all had a very early morning & he did not want to be teased about something unworthy of his attention.

“Can’t tell you. You’ll have to wait but you’ll like it. Come on hurry up.” I said encouragingly.

After dinner I set his cup & saucer on a tray & carried it into his room.

“Let me finish this page.” He said glancing over at the tray.

I climbed into bed next to him & handed him the cup.

“So what’s the story?” He asked knowing that there had to be some tale of ‘when Dad was a little boy’ or ‘I used to make this…’.

“Well,” I started. “When I was a little boy…”

“Yeah, I know. You used to have raw jelly at your Nan’s.” He said rolling his eyes.

“Yeah but we also used to have Ovaltine too. It’s like a milk drink.” I informed him

“Is it hot?” He asked.

“No it should be alright now.” I told him.

He took a great gulp & nodded his head.

“Mmm it tastes like junket.” He pronounced licking his lips.

“Was it worth the wait?” I asked.

“Yeah.” Came the reply.

20111112-112347 PM.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Dessert, Drinks, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ovaltine® & Raw Jelly.

  1. I have fond memories of Ovaltine… Lucky boy!

  2. Stef says:

    I’ve never had Ovaltine; is it like chocolate milk? Hot cocoa? Something else?

  3. roger edwards says:

    you can make a meal out of anything. good on ya

  4. Mistral Zagni says:

    Yes this was a lovely end to the day. I remember drinking this for my in somnia years ago. A lovely ,silky, warming taste.

Leave a Reply

