Chocolate & Cherry Muffin.

Monday 14th November 2011

“Listen Zeph, I wanna make a cake to celebrate one year of our blog. So what kinda cake would you like?” I asked.

“Well, I don’t really like cake do I?” He told me.

“I know, but I thought maybe you’d like a carrot cake…”

“Yuck! No, not carrot cake. I hate carrot cake.” He said dramatically.

“Ok Mr Drama. How about lemon cake or chocolate cake.” I said trying to shake him out of his negative thinking. “Or chocolate & cherry?”

“Yeah, chocolate & cherry.” He replied resolute in his decision.

To be fair, I know he’s not that keen on cake but he can sometimes be lured into having a nibble if the wind is blowing in the right direction & there’s a full moon.

With the decision made we both went about our business. He to jib around on his bed & I to put the washing out.

As I struggled down the corridor with a basket full of wet clothes, he popped his head around the bedroom door.

“Dad…instead of a cake, can I have dinner in front if the tele?”

I came half way & let him have lunch in front of the tele. In return we all sat up at tea-time & ate our muffins.

As I brought his muffin to the table I sang.

“Have you seen the muffin man,
the muffin man, the muffin man,
Have you seen the muffin man who lives on Drury lane.”

It was a song I used to sing to him as a baby.

“Oh Dad…Shut up!” He replied with embarrassment.

And so here concludes 365 consecutive days of blogging. However, my story does not end here. The plan is to ease up on the gas but still continue blogging 3 times a week.

But for now I’m taking a well deserved few days off. πŸ™‚

20111114-105637 PM.jpg

This entry was posted in Afternoon Snack, Dairy-Free, Eggs, Fruit, Organic, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Chocolate & Cherry Muffin.

  1. jane edwards says:

    Happy anniversary bro. Thanks for all the inspiration. Xx

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    Very well done. I have very much enjoyed reading your lovely stories of your childhood, our little family moments and your precious experiences with Zephy. Your stories are very vivid and have made me smile and chuckle. The blog and writing have developed so much over the year. This is a wonderful gift for Zephy that he will so enjoy when he’s older. Congratulations. A great achievement. xx

  3. Stef says:

    BIG CONGRATS to you on a year of blogging!! I’m delighted that I’ll still get to enjoy your posts a few times a week – and I fully agree with Mistral: What a HUGE gift you have given your son. (Not that he realizes it now – but he will. What I wouldn’t give for a similar thing from my parents.) So, so awesome. You did it Jonathan! Woot! πŸ™‚

    And yes, now a few days of repose are certainly in order. Just not TOO long… πŸ˜‰

  4. Joanna Budden says:

    Congratulations Jonathan! Wow – you did it. I’m so impressed with your blog and your sticking-at-it-power. Enjoy the few days off, eat rubbish and you won’t have to tell anyone! πŸ˜‰ Then, please come back and carry on! πŸ™‚

  5. Julian Jahanpour says:

    Brilliant! What a great year of blogging, well done mate!
    Enjoy a nice few days off.

  6. Congratulations! 365 consecutive blogs, whew! I didn’t even attempt and am happy to have two days in a row! Love your stories about Zephy!

  7. Amanda says:

    Congratulations Jon. A whole year, quite an achievement. It’s been a pleasure to read, looking forward to catching up with you 3 times a week after your very well-earned rest.

  8. roger edwards says:

    well done my son.congratulations.
    a diary next. let’s look for a cook book publisher, or better still post “365” on kindle. im sure it will work. love ya son.ma n pa xxx

Leave a Reply

