Pork Belly with Three Root Mash & Swiss Chard.

Sunday 27th November 2011

We were picked up by a young Italian boy, Pietro, in a battered old Ford fiesta. The hotel had dispatched one of the waiters to get us from a bus stop in the next village. After cramming one of our oversized ruck sacks into the boot of the car & the other on the back seat, we started the 12 kilometre journey.

We were in the middle of a months tour of the beautiful island of Sardinia & had decided to treat ourselves to a few days rest & relaxation by the coast. Pietro didn’t speak much English, which was fine by us so my wife & I sat back & enjoyed the incredible views. We zig zagged down the mountain, through the deserted mining town to the coast below, listen all the while to Eros Ramazzotti.

The hotel was predictable called Le Dune, boasting the highest dunes in Europe. Being the end of the season the hotel was half full which gave the two dozen guests even more space to explore the surroundings without bumping into each other.

Supper was served in the dinning room at 8.00, relatively early for us but when in Rome & all that. Now I’m not keen on pork, as a rule. I find it too dry & too lean for me. I tend to be drawn towards the fattier part like the belly or leg. So the whole pig they were roasting at the end of the dinning hall was right up my alley. Crispy & dripping in grease. It was the first time I’d ever seen a hog roast & it filled the room with the sweet smell of pork fat on a real wood fire.

We ate like kings that night.

20111128-124740 AM.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Dinner, Pork, Potatoes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pork Belly with Three Root Mash & Swiss Chard.

  1. rutheh says:

    Looks rich and tasty!

  2. I’m reading Under the Tuscan Sun by Frances Mayes right now and your last two posts could have been excerpts…minus the ankle deep (knee high?) trash littering the cafe floor. Great writing! I love to be able to visualize and smell, almost taste, what I am reading about.

  3. Stef says:

    Your mash and chard look great! I loved reading your traveling story… so lovely. 🙂

  4. Mistral Zagni says:

    This brought back great vivid memories. Thank you. And such tasty pork and mash. Can we have this again please.

Leave a Reply

