Paella.

Thursday 1st December 2011

“It’s like buttah!” I exclaimed in my best Barbra Streisand accent.

I was referring to the squid in the paella, of course. A few months ago I had had a cooking disaster with some baby octopus which questioned my abilities, firstly, as a home cook & ultimately as a father & son. The shame of it! On that occasion we ended up eating a plate of rubber bands with spaghetti. Not nice.

Not wanting to commit the same error twice, I hit the net to get some overdue advice on keeping it tender. The most prevalent answer was the submersion in a bowl of milk, closely followed by the mashed kiwi. I liked the idea of the milk & the science sounded right, so I gave it a go. (The lactic acid enzymes break up the muscle & relaxes the protein molecules.)

So after soaking it for about 40 minutes, I rinsed it off & threw it in with the rest of the ingredients.

The end result was 100% better than my last attempt.

“It’s like buttah!” I repeated.

“Shut up Dad.” Zephy said.

That boy has got no idea to what lengths I went to for us to be able to have a rubber-free meal.

20111202-120218 AM.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Dinner, Rice, Seafood and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Paella.

  1. Wow, that looks amazing! I’ve never made a paella, but I eyeball this huge paella pan at my fav. Spanish restaurant in FL every time I get the chance to visit. One day I’ll buy it and do it right. Know anyone with a good recipe? 😉

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    Yes I remember the calamary was a beautiful texture. Wonderful.

Leave a Reply

