Garlic Bread.

Sunday 4th December 2011

The curtains are drawn, the central heating is cranked up to high, the table is laid & the new Neil Sedaka record is playing on the hi-fi. Mum & Dad are having a dinner party. I’m 7 years old.

The heady mix of the red velet sofa & the sultry lighting made the room glow like Christmas Eve. As a kid I remember feeling incredibly safe in that environment. There is excitement is in the air & everyone is happy.

It being the 70’s, spaghetti bolognese was in heavy rotation & that dish just wouldn’t be complete without a stick of French bread, sliced & slathered in garlic butter.

French bread was pretty exotic in those days but once warmed through & ladened with melted butter & garlic, it was transformed into something that people went home talking about. We take it for granted now but back then it really was like having bananas during rationing.

Mum & Dad were the king & queen of entertaining as far as I’m concerned. Alcohol is abundant & food is plentiful. On top of that, their witty repartee never failed to get guests to come back time & time again. As a teenager my friends used to love coming to my house as Mum would ply them with treats. And being teenagers our thoughts were never far from our stomachs.

Me & my sisters never got to sample it in it’s intended state but instead feasted on the leftovers the next morning. On one particular occasion I remember sitting in the middle of the dinning room table, with my sisters, ripping off pieces of soggy garlic bread & scooping up cold bolognese all before 8.30 in the morning. I can only imagine that the liebfraumilch was flowing a little too freely that night.

The plait was crafted by my wife out of the dough I made last weekend & I turned it into garlic bread to accompany the 12 hour Rabbit Bolognese we ate in the week.

20111205-122926 AM.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Bread, Dairy-Free, Dinner, Eggs, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Garlic Bread.

  1. Stef says:

    What a beautiful loaf! And what a lovely story you tell. I feel like I was in your house with you. 🙂

  2. Joanna Budden says:

    Made my mouth water thinking of garlic bread. Thanks for reminding me it existed!

  3. Mistral Zagni says:

    Yes a great story. I can so picture it.

Leave a Reply

