Shepard’s Pie.

Friday 9th December 2011

There comes a time in a carnivore’s life when he can longer stave off the cravings & cries;

Where’s the beef!

And so it came to be, we have been eating vegetarian & vegetarianish meals for the last week or so & I felt like we all needed something other than a bit of bacon in a quiche or some diced chorizo sausage thrown into a pasta dish.

Bring on the red meat!

It’s funny really, because for carnivores we don’t actually eat that much meat. We eat fish twice a week, eggs another & veggie 2 or 3 times so that only leaves a couple of nights to enjoy something meaty.

I’ve been tinkering with this recipe to try & find an alternative to the mushrooms that I usually put in. My feeling is that the mushroom intensifies the flavour of the minced beef but as I can’t eat them for the time being I’ve had to emit them.

My Mum’s recipe calls for minced lamb, leeks & grated carrot. We can’t get minced lamb here in Spain, unless I mince it myself, but the cheap cuts that are generally used for such purposes are so hard to come by that I rarely do it. Instead I went for 100% ground beef with onions, leeks, grated carrot & parsnips. And very nice it was too.

20111209-012716 PM.jpg

This entry was posted in Beef, Dairy-Free, Dinner, Potatoes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shepard’s Pie.

  1. You had Wendy’s and “Where’s the beef?!” in England? These things just never occur to me.
    This looks so amazing that I am contemplating mashing the 2 or 3 potatoes I have in the fridge and just broiling them with cheese for lunch.

  2. Stef says:

    Perhaps you could try a soy crumble product in place of the ground beef? The different flavor might compensate for some of the mushroom loss? (Just an idea.)

  3. Mistral Zagni says:

    Yes this was a delicious shephards pie. Always enjoy this meal. Real comfort food.

Leave a Reply

