Pan Fried Prawns with Garlic & Pernod.

Sunday 11th December 2011

“Is that bit there his poo?” Asked my son, Zephyrus, pointing at the black strip running down the back of the naked prawn.

We are in France for the weekend & the prawns, packed in ice, on the fishmonger’s slab looked too good to pass up.

“Yeah,” I said checking his face for any signs of a gastronomic strike. “Get it down ya boy. It all adds to the flavour.”

“I’m eating prawn poo.” He exclaimed triumphantly biting into the pink flesh.

Some may say it’s gross or dirty. Some may say it changes the taste of the succulent crustacean but I say neither. I eat pig’s trotters & you know where they’ve been!

Toddlers & especially babies, drop food on the ground all the time. A friend of mine has a 3 second rule. If the parent or child retrieves it from the floor within the stated 3 seconds, it’s good to go. If not, it can either live out the rest of its day where it landed or it’s destined for the rubbish bin. I, on the other hand, am not very good at counting & so if it looks ok, it is ok.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not Fungus the Bogeyman but I’m also not too concerned with being Monica from friends.

“Go’n boy, a bit o’ dirt can’t hurt cha!” My Nan used to say if I ever dropped anything on the floor. I think I fall more into that camp.

20111211-104424 PM.jpg

This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Lunch, Seafood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pan Fried Prawns with Garlic & Pernod.

  1. Stef says:

    Many people here follow a “three-second rule”, too – but I am not one of them. As Seinfeld said, “Adjacent to refuse, *is* refuse.” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KKC5jjFkfgo

  2. Very impressed to your son ate something so sophisticated… imagine what he’ll try by the time he’s a teenager!

Leave a Reply

