Toast & Dripping.

Thursday 15th December 2011

“Do you like toast?” I ask my students.

Invariably, & luckily for me, they say; “Yes.”

“Well you are amongst billions. Everybody in the world likes toast. Think about it, Do you know someone who doesn’t like toast.” I continue.

I have nothing to base this inflated statistic on but it usually causes a ripple of interest in a subject that, for teenagers, is beyond boring.

“It’s a natural phenomenon. Everybody in the whole world likes toast. Now, today we’re gonna be looking at foods we like & dislike. What other foods do we like?” I ask.

I use this same introduction to the topic of food every year. I used to do the same thing, substituting toast for pizza, but quickly ditched it after I got too many nos.

In my defence though, it seems perfectly feasible to me that every culture in the world has their version of toasted bread. It’s fits every occasion; slathered with jam & butter for breakfast, a midnight snack after being at the pub all night or to accompany a hot steaming bowl of soup.

At some point during my evangelism, one of the kid’s curiosities will get the better of them & they’ll come back to the toasty fact.

“Is that true about the toast?” They’d ask.

“Nah…but everyone in my house does!” I joke.

While we were in France last week I made a warm duck breast salad. I managed to save a little of the rendered fat which I bought home with me.

“What is it?” He asked as I handed it to him.

“Duck dripping.” I told him.

“I don’t want it!” He declare returning his attention to more pressing matters.

“You haven’t even tried it,” I said. “You’ve got to at least try it before you say you don’t like.”

“Leave it there then.” He instructed.

10 minutes later I went back to find that only a corner had been nibbled.

“Come on, are you gonna eat this?” I asked hopefully.

“Dad,” He bellowed. “I’m not eating it – It’s disgusting!”

The moral of the story is this; although it might well be true that everybody in the world likes toast, it seems not everybody likes duck dripping.

20111215-063704 PM.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Afternoon Snack, Bread, Dairy-Free, Duck and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Toast & Dripping.

  1. Stef says:

    I think I have to side with Zephy on this one. My mom would skim off/collect the fat from various animal products she cooked, put it in a small container, and wait for it to congeal – so that she could safely toss it in the trash without it slopping all over everything. Never once did any of us think to even try to eat it – we just assumed it was ‘garbage’ (literally). Is dripping a delicacy in Spain (or elsewhere)? Seriously – I really don’t know…

    • Mum used to have this when she was a child which in turn was passed on to her by her mother, my Nan.

      During the second world war food was on rations so nothing got waisted. Having a piece of hit toast slathered with the Sunday roast dripping was a treat.

      It’s not something I’ve seen here in Spain but animal fats are widely used in cooking from making pastry & puddings to roasting vegetables.

      • Stef says:

        The WW rationing logic makes sense. Some people here (in the US) use lard for cooking, so I suppose spreading pan drippings on toast is similar… hmm…

Leave a Reply

