Chilli Con Carne.

Sunday 18th December 2011

“Can I see Theo & Zachy?” Zephy asked.

These are my son’s first words. It is 8.16am & he has barely opened his eyes. This was his lie in for the week.

This familiar phrase is chanted every Saturday & Sunday morning without fail. The two boys in question, Theo & Zachy, are his best friends. They live 5 floors above us in the same apartment block. They go to different schools so they rarely get to see each other during the week. So its not surprising that by the weekend he is craving to see them. They are like his surrogate brothers.

Lucky for him that we had indeed made plans to see them. Last night was the grand finale of ‘Strictly Come Dancing’ & we had organised for the boys to have dinner & then watch the final together.

I wanted to make a one-pot-meal. Something that could be cooked in advance & would be easy to eat in front of the tv. Chilli Con Carne seemed to be the perfect choice & besides Theo & Zacky’s Mum, Tamsin, & I hadn’t had it for ages & were up for some chilli.

“Will the boys eat chilli?” I questioned Tamsin.

“Ooh I don’t know, they’ve never had it before. Yeah, I’m sure they will.” She said. “Oh chilli! That sounds lovely. I haven’t had that for ages.”

I have cooked for the boys before but I didn’t want to serve up something that would be sent back without so much as a spoonful missing. So when the plates came back cleaned I was more than pleased with myself.

Later when the boys were taking a break from their own dance rehearsal, Theo came into the room.

“Say thank you to Jon for a lovely dinner.” Tam instructed her son.

“Thank you.” He blurted out not even looking at me.

Theo is a very shy 9 year old who feels uncomfortable having to speak to adults. But I have a soft spot for him & always make a point of trying to get him to converse with me. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t.

“Do you like my cooking?” I asked poking him in the side so he notices me.

“Yup.” He replied before dashing from the room with a grin on his face.

High praise, high praise indeed.

20111218-114315 PM.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Beef, Dairy-Free, Dinner, Rice and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chilli Con Carne.

  1. Stef says:

    They are lucky boys to have you cooking for them! And yes, even two words from a very shy child is high praise indeed!

Leave a Reply

