Beetroot, Apple & Cucumber Salad with Sesame Seeds.

Tuesday 20th December 2011

“I’ll say a word, then you have to say a word after, ok? I start,” He said. “Ketchup…”

“Chips…” Said my wife.

“No, you say mayonnaise, then I say allioli, then you say…” He instructed.

“This is called word association Zeph.” My wife interrupted.

“No, you have to say something like it.” He tried to explain.

“Yeah, this is called word association Zephy. We play it at school.” My wife tried for the second time.

“I’ll start,” He continued ignoring everything Mummy had just said.

“Ketchup…”

“Chips…” Mummy repeated.

“Bacon…” I said.

“Mayonnaise…” My son said possibly still thinking about the ‘chips’ rather than the ‘bacon’.

This carried on for a few more rounds before it started to get more obscurely connected.

“Red…”

“Cheese = red!, that’s a bit random isn’t it Dad?” Interjected my wife.

“It’s the red wax on the outside of the cheese.” I said trying to justify my random thought process.

Zephy paused while he though about the three lettered adjective.

“Beetroot!” He yelled triumphantly.

‘Blog entry sorted.’ I thought.

We all cheered as Zephy plunged his fork into another mouthful of salad.

“What do you think of the Beetroot Zeph?” I asked.

“Yeah good. Come on Daddy, your go.”

I made this to accompany our cheese burgers & potato wedges.

20111220-050753 PM.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Dinner, Fruit, Vegetarian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beetroot, Apple & Cucumber Salad with Sesame Seeds.

  1. Stef says:

    Whatever it takes to keep the kid entertained during dinner, eh? 😉

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    Yummy and colourful salad.

Leave a Reply

