Lasagne.

Thursday 12th January 2012

For as long as I can remember, I have considered the ability to choose, a luxury. It’s something I remind Zephy of daily.

“Some people don’t have a choice, you know. You’re one of the lucky ones!”

From the profession I chose to follow, to the clothes I put on my back, to different degrees, I’ve been able to choose. But I’m also acutely aware that others don’t.

However too many alternatives are not always a good thing for me. The infinity of election weighs too heavily on my mind. Breaking everything down into small digestible sized categories helps. So that’s where writing lists comes in handy. Whether it be things to achieve, jobs to do or food to buy an old fashioned hand written list prioritises, & capsulates, my choices.

Supermarket shopping in the UK confirms my need to list my reasons for being there in the first place. The limitless choice of groceries dazzle & bamboozle me. I find myself hurtling down aisles unable to stop for fear of being lured into buying something that’s not on the list. The bright & shiny objects literally flicker before my very eyes. Do we really need 8 cooler units full of yoghurts?

But, he says finally getting to the point, what is a delight about hitting the shops in the UK is the enormous array of dairy free cheeses they have on offer. I managed to find several different types, including mozzarella & parmesan.

I made this with a cheddar substitute. I was sceptical about its claims but the blurb on the back said;

‘Lactofree cheese is made from cows milk. As part of cheese making, bacterial cultures are added to the milk to create acidity, aroma & flavour. These cultures need a source of food & this food is lactose. The bacteria uses up the lactose naturally found in the milk to give lactofree cheese its distinct flavour. The bacteria will stop working only once all the lactose has been used up, leaving cheese that is naturally lactose free.’

Sounded good to me & so in the basket it went with my other luxuries.

I’m a sucker for a bit of science.

20120112-102810 PM.jpg

This entry was posted in Beef, Dairy-Free, Dinner, Pasta and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lasagne.

  1. Stef says:

    The Paradox of Choice can indeed be a double-edged sword. (http://www.ted.com/talks/barry_schwartz_on_the_paradox_of_choice.html) But in certain situations, and under certain conditions, it can be really nice to have options…

  2. It looks like the cheese melted nicely.

  3. Mistral Zagni says:

    This was surprisingly tasty and Zephy really loved it and asked if he could have it again the next day! Excellent choice of lactose free cheese.

Leave a Reply

