Nut Roast.

Sunday 15th January 2012

I’m not a big peanut fan, as in the Arachis hypogaea seed, that is. Back in the day, I used to eat them on the plane because I was duped into thinking they were free but since low cost flights have invaded Europe my peanut days are over.

However, I am quite partial to a pecan, a walnut or even a cashew. In fact I used to carry a bag of cashews & a bag of dried apricots in my school bag as part of my standard energy boosting treats.

That is, of course, until I was told in the summer of 2011 that I had a nut intolerance.

“You’ll probably find it’s just peanuts but you’ll have to try them all individually to find out if you have a reaction.” Leigh, the guy from the Allergy Clinic told me.

So I have spend the last few months doing just that. And through a process of illumination, have come to the disappointing realisation that I am sadly intolerant to all varieties of nut.

Thankfully my reactions are nowhere near as bad as they could be. Although I’m sure my wife would beg to differ. Far from having to carry an epipen in place of my cashews, my reactions are purely gastric.

Unfortunately I’m not the only one who has to deal with the fall out.

“Dad, was that you?” Zephy cried pulling the duvet up to cover his face.

Oops!

20120115-110002 PM.jpg

Recipe.

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Eggs, Pastry, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Nut Roast.

  1. Francis says:

    Someone once told me that cashews are not actually nuts.

    • Really! Thanks for the info. I’ll check that with my friend Mr Google. 😉

      Incidentally, French monks used to call rabbit, fish. So they could eat it on Fridays. Curious.

      • Francis says:

        I’ve done it for you: The true fruit of the cashew tree is a kidney or boxing-glove shaped drupe that grows at the end of the cashew apple. The drupe develops first on the tree, and then the pedicel expands to become the cashew apple. Within the true fruit is a single seed, the cashew nut. Although a nut in the culinary sense, in the botanical sense the nut of the cashew is a seed. The seed is surrounded by a double shell containing an allergenic phenolic resin, anacardic acid, a potent skin irritant chemically related to the more well known allergenic oil urushiol which is also a toxin found in the related poison ivy. Properly roasting cashews destroys the toxin, but it must be done outdoors as the smoke (not unlike that from burning poison ivy) contains urushiol droplets which can cause severe, sometimes life-threatening, reactions by irritating the lungs. People who are allergic to cashew urushiols may also react to mango or pistachio which are also in the Anacardiaceae family. Some people are allergic to cashew nuts, but cashews are a less frequent allergen than nuts or peanuts.

      • Armed with the information you sent, I thought I’d give the poor cashew a second chance.

        My students were none too pleased.

        “Pardon me!”

        Thanks anyway Francis. I appreciate your efforts. I guess I’ll just have to remain one of the chosen few.
        Maybe it’s my calling. 😉

  2. Hilarious! But seriously, that is one great recipe! Too bad for you!! You must miss this one!

  3. My husband and I were both lol when we read this.

  4. Mistral Zagni says:

    Yes I miss this dish too. We had only just been introduced to it and now it is no more…unless I want to spend the night with my nose covered all night.

  5. Stef says:

    My mom has the same reaction to bananas. As a kid, I asked her to please not eat them. When I was a child, she ignored these requests. Now she honors them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

