Chicken Korma.

Sunday 22nd January 2012

“Do your kids like curry?” I asked Paul.

“Err…yeah. Kind of.” He replied wrinkling his nose very slightly.

“It doesn’t matter if they don’t,” I said reading into the nose thing. “there’s always plenty of bread.”

We both laughed knowing that if the worst came to the worst parents can always placate their kids with bread.

It’s not easy cooking for other people. We all have our little complexities but somehow children are 1) Less concerned about being polite, preferring to tell it like it is, rather than dressing it up & 2) Less concerned about eating what you have served up. This leaves very little room for error. They either eat it or they don’t.

“So you’re supposed to be a good cook are you?” Paul’s son, Joe, asked accusingly.

This was his opening gambit as we passed each other in the corridor.

“That’s what they say.” I replied with a smile.

No pressure there then.

To be honest, I was making life more difficult for myself. I should have cooked two meals; one for the kids & one for the adults but as a Korma curry is more creamy as opposed to spicy, I thought I’d risk it.

Halfway through the meal Joe & I both found ourselves in the corridor again.

“How ya doin’, alright?” I asked ushering him back to the table.

“Why did you make it so spicy?” He said wrinkling his nose.

I recognise that!

“It’s not spicy,” I said trying not to sound defensive. “Would you like some more chicken?” I continued changing the subject.

He nodded.

For all Joe’s kvetching he actually managed to do pretty well. When it came time to leave his Mum nudged him.

“What do you say to Jon?” Jenny asked instructing him to express gratitude for the day.

“The first plate wasn’t that great but the dessert was good so thanks.” He told me with all sincerity.

“Well thanks.” I replied matching his sincerity. “What would you give it out of 10?” I continued.

“10.” He said. “But the first plate was a 1.”

“Well, I’ll take the 10 any day of the week, thanks.”

“Ok,” He said. “Bye.”

And with that he skipped away.

20120122-113610 PM.jpg

This entry was posted in Chicken, Dairy-Free, Lunch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chicken Korma.

  1. Stef says:

    Two questions:
    1) Dare I ask how old Joe is?
    2) What did you make for dessert?! 😉

  2. roger edwards says:

    my favorite curry,a korma. we had one this week with chiceken,very nice

Leave a Reply

