Condensed Milk on Toast.

Thursday 26th January 2012

“Zephy?…Zephy?…”

He is lounging in front of the tele. His usual Saturday morning spot watching ‘Match of the day’.

“Zephy, answer me please?” I repeat beginning to lose patience.

He flashes me a glance & returns his focus to the screen. I have his attention.

“Would you like another piece of toast?” I ask picking up his empty plate beside him.

The question lingers in the air for a millisecond.

“Mmmmm, yes please,” He replies starring straight at me. “With condensed milk again.” He continues pushing out his bottom lip & placing his palm together.

Food rationing started in Britain in 1940. My Dad was a year old. He then spent the next 14 years living through the restriction that were placed on food like meat, sugar & pretty much everything except fish.

Understandably, milk was scarce at the time too & so condensed milk was a great alternative, as it didn’t go off as fast as fresh milk. But acquiring a tin of this liquid gold didn’t come cheap, it would set you back half of the 20 points, each person was issued a month.

I asked Dad if he ever ate it as a kid.

“We’d be playing footie in the street & run in the house for a doorstep, smeared with condensed milk.” He told me.

Fast forward 60 years & I suppose the modern day equivalent is a child sprawled out on a sofa watching the football highlights while his Dad serves him with warm, buttered toast smothered with condensed milk.

I guess some things haven’t change that much.

20120126-112956 PM.jpg

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Condensed Milk on Toast.

  1. Oh, yummy, I haven’t tried this one yet… move over Nutella!!

  2. rutheh says:

    Have never seen this combination but I bet it is tasty.

  3. Stef says:

    So, you just butter toast, and then smear condensed milk on it – right from the can? I’ve never heard of such a thing…

  4. roger edwards says:

    mooooorish!!1

Leave a Reply

