Moussaka.

Tuesday 21st February 2012

It’s been a very hectic couple of weeks. Culminating in the passing of my father-in-law, Paul. He was a very brave man who had been fighting lung cancer, & all the painful treatment that goes with it, for the past 4 months.

Unfortunately, we could not be there for his last hours. But we did have the fortune & privilege to be by his side the days before his passing. Maybe karma was at work because he manage to hold on to see his children before spending his last 24 hours with his heroic wife.

Watching someone fade is a harrowing experience but of course, worse for the fading. I’d like to think that seeing me smiling & knitting in the corner of the room, in his newly acquired egg chair, brought some comfort to him.

My relationship with him didn’t really revolve around food, other than the fact that we ate together often in our 24 year association, but this particular dish is in homage to his passion for Greece & the Greeks.

Rest in peace Paul. I will miss you.

20120221-063657 PM.jpg

This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Dinner, Eggs, Lamb, Potatoes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Moussaka.

  1. How sad. So sorry for your loss. My condolences to you and your family.

  2. Stef says:

    Jonathan, I am so sorry to learn of your father-in-law’s passing. I was wondering what was going on with you, as I hadn’t seen any activity from you for a while…. my condolences to you and your wife (and to Zephy, too). You are all in my thoughts.

  3. rutheh says:

    What a lovely tribute to your father-in-law. I am sorry for your loss.

Leave a Reply

