Homemade Mushroom Pizza.

Tuesday 27th March 2012

Ever since I was a kid I’ve wanted one night of the week where we always ate the same thing. It appealed to my compulsive obsessive nature. Fish on Fridays or a take-away curry on a Saturday night, it’s all valid. But perhaps the most obvious of them all, the pizza night, was portrayed so well in films that it caught my interest.

I have tried over the years to instigate this very tradition only to be halted by my intolerance to cheese. While the rest of my family could chow-down on such delights I was left with a tomatoey pizza base with the cheesy topping pulled off. A mere shadow of its former self. For this reason I have to make them myself so I can put my cheese substitute on top.

A pizza without cheese is like…(He says trying to think of something super intelligent & witty to compare it to)…well, to be perfectly frank, it’s a pizza without cheese. (Nope, move along! Nothing to see here!)

The problem with ‘pizza night’ being on Fridays is that I work until late & so the baton is passed to my wife for the evening. And although making pizza is relatively easy, it does take a bit of forward thinking. For starters the dough needs to left to rise for an hour before being manipulated into the required shape then topped. Not hard just time consuming.

I used to work in a pizza restaurant while I was studying. I tried all facets of the business from home delivery to waiting tables then prepping the dough to finally putting the pizzas together to be baked. The temptation is to load the base with as many different ingredients as possible but from experience I’ve learnt that this leads to a soggy base with uncooked toppings.

I made a mushroom & black olive one for my wife & Zephyrus (See photo) & a fresh tomato, anchovies & black olive one just for myself. Both were made with lactose free mozzarella.

It was a good start. Let’s hope we can keep this up.

I’ll keep you posted.

20120327-053104 PM.jpg

This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Dinner, Organic, Pastry, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Homemade Mushroom Pizza.

  1. We’ve just given up pizza night. Pizza without cheese is like Friday night without pizza. 😦

  2. Stef says:

    Traditions are important – they provide a feeling of comfort and security in an often unstable, scary world.

    Pizza night is a great tradition to impart! As a kid, we always went to a restaurant on Friday nights, ‘find-your-own’ for Saturday, and pizza on Sunday.

    Here’s to many more lactose-free-yet-made-with-love pies. 🙂

  3. roger edwards says:

    just returned. PIZZA. my favourite!!!

Leave a Reply

