Quiche Lorraine.

Tuesday 10th April 2012

‘There are moments you remember all your life
There are moments you wait for and dream of all your life
This is one of those moments,’

Barbra Streisand -This is one of those moments.

“What ya doing?” My son, Zephyrus asked.

He has been lolling around in the corridor for the past 30 minutes.

“Making dinner. Can you put 3 ounces of that in there for me?” I asked pointing to the butter.

To my total surprise, he picked up the butter & began spooning it into the mixing bowl. I probably ask him to help me a dozen times a day, to which the usual reply would be;

“I’m just jibbing!”

For some reason the task at hand today, took his fancy & so jibbing was put on the back burner.

“How’d you get it off the spoon?” He asked trying to flick what was left on the spoon into the metal mixing bowl, but instead catapulting shards all around the kitchen.

“Use your finger,” I encouraged taking his finger to scoop off the remaining butter. “Have you washed your hands?” I asked noticing the grime that had been worked into the palm of his hand.

“Oops!” He replied putting a buttered finger to his lips.

“Go & wash your hands & then come back & finish this.” I called after him dashing for the bathroom.

This is the point where, in the past, I lose him to yet more jibbing. Apart from the fact that he has to walk past his jibbing ground to get to the bathroom, washing his hands his not a chore that he relishes & therefore could waylay his return. In his defence, most boys of his age have an eversion to water. But 30 seconds later there he was.

“What shall I do now?” He asked.

For the next 30 minutes we worked together to create our evening meal. I moved swiftly behind him setting up the next step for him to complete.

“Break the eggs in that bowl & then add them to the big bowl. That way if you get any shell you can fish it out easier…Mash the cheese & mix it in with the egg…a bit of salt…& pepper…wipe that round with butter…put flour on there,” I directed.

He moved effortlessly around my tiny kitchen completing each instruction like a pro until he had placed the last slice of tomato on top of the flan.

“Can I watch tele now?” He immediately asked.

“Look at that!” I enthused. “You made that!”

“Yeah I know. Can I watch tele?”

“Well done Zephy, that’s excellent! Yes you can watch tele.” I said trying to catch him off guard so I could plant a smacker on his cheek.

It defiantly was one of those moments.

20120410-103625 PM.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Eggs, Pastry, Pork and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quiche Lorraine.

  1. rutheh says:

    Good to see your post and photo today. I received a cool mailing and will post Wednesday evening after 2000 my time. Thanks. So fun to get real mail!!!

  2. How lovely to share moments like this with your son. Lovely looking quiche too!

  3. Stef says:

    Aw…. what a great bonding experience! And I’d bet my last penny that these moments will only increase as Zephy continues to get older. You’re raising quite a lovely son there.

Leave a Reply

