Hamburger & Chips.

Tuesday 24th April 2012

One of the best things about teaching is when one of my students gets whatever it is I’m trying to teach them. Whether it be teaching a 4 year old how to hold a pair of scissors or a teenager the difference between two verb tenses, it always makes me feel like I’ve done my job properly. To see the look on their faces as the penny drops, never fails to choke me up.

Learning another language is incredibly difficult & so this doesn’t happen as much as I’d like but when it does I revel in the glory.

Being able to hold a tune is a prerequisite for teaching primary. Luckily I’m quite partial to belting out a rendition of ‘Sing a rainbow’ or ‘Incy wincy spider’. Of recent, we’ve been working on an arrangement of the classic ‘Old McDonald’ which, not by coincidence, tied in perfectly with an episode of the kids program ‘Big cook little cook’ I wanted to show my group.

“McDonald!” Sacha exclaimed turning round in her chair & beaming at me.

Sacha is a very bright, funny, challenging & mischievous 5 year old student of mine. She loves singing & does it with gusto. I was so taken aback that she had understood something & been able to connect that to something we had been studying in class, I burst into song urging her to join in.

“Yeah, Ol’ McDonald!” I repeated beginning to sing the familiar nursery rhyme in an effort to control the tears.

“Yeah, I love McDonald’s!” She said still smiling.

That Ronald bloody McDonald has got a lot to answer for!

20120424-113309 PM.jpg

This entry was posted in Beef, Bread, Dinner, Potatoes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hamburger & Chips.

  1. roger edwards says:

    couldn’t you love em eh

  2. Stef says:

    THAT is hilarious. Oh, old McDonalds…. 😉

Leave a Reply

