Banana Muffins with Vanilla Butter Icing.

Tuesday 5th June 2012

“How time flies!” Is a phrase that meant nothing to me until I had my son, Zephyrus. The whole idea of time passing faster than is desired was an alien concept. Since then I’ve watched it rush towards me at a frightening rate. It feels like only yesterday that I was bathing him in our make-shift bath, which was an inflatable dinghy, in a dimly lite room or running along side him while he rode his bike for the first time. Indeed, how time flies!

Our story started one hot & barmy night at the end of May when my wife broke her waters around midnight. He had obviously spent long enough in Mum’s tummy & wanted out. After a nail biting taxi ride, a very tiring few hours for my wife & an impotent few hours for me, a shrivelled up new born baby was placed in my arms. He had skin too big for his body & a mass of black hair.

For the next few days the three of us huddled together to comfort each other through cracked nipples, ravenous hunger & constipation. And that was just me! After 3 days & nights in the cold hospital environment we were granted our freedom.

It was stormy & beginning to rain outside as we swept our beautiful baby boy into an awaiting taxi, both of us vexing about whether we should put the seat belt around the boy or not.

On arrival at our now family home, we exhales & shed a little tear as we placed our sleeping bairn on the sofa.

We had done it!

Now all we had to do was navigate our way through the next 50 odd years without traumatising him too much. Failing that, there’s always therapy!

These were the cakes I made for his birthday party. But as you may already know, Zephy isn’t mad keen on cakes so we decided that if we put a sweet on top of the cake he might be enticed into trying one. But alas no. He just ate the sweet & left the cake on the plate. But a day later he told me that one of his friends at the party had commented on how delicious they were.

“Did you save one for me?” He asked while we were reading bedtime books.

“Yeah, I think there’s one one out there for you. Would you like it now?” I asked eagerly.

A few minutes later he was noisily scoffing his cupcake in my ear.

“That…” He said pausing for effect. “is lovely!” He continued.

Happy days. 🙂

20120605-115349 PM.jpg

This entry was posted in Dessert, Eggs, Vegetarian and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Banana Muffins with Vanilla Butter Icing.

  1. LOL Happy birthday to your boy!

  2. Stef says:

    Nine already?! Oh goodness…. he’s growing up before our eyes!
    It’s amazing what peer pressure can do. Even if he doesn’t eat everything you make for him, I suspect in his heart he still loves them all.

  3. roger edwards says:

    i’m sure THE ACE OF CAKES will be stealing your recipe

Leave a Reply

